Liquid Thoughts


Here I sit, in the corner of this liquor bottle

Some say I’m drowning my sorrows away

Those who don’t know…maybe

It’s no truth of mine since these sorrows have never faced death

Rather their presence is magnified when I’m taking my daily dive

And emotions dance on my skin made of nerve endings

While tears seem to live on my cheeks

You don’t know me, nor do you really care

And though my eyes are puffy, I can see the whispers.

Funny how the burning of my throat pales in comparison…to that which you do not see

The hurt beneath the surface

The demons that haunt and pull at me just enough to make my muscles tense

Don’t judge me just hand me my bottle….or can….or whatever the  hell was I having?

Who cares anyway, it all meets my lips the same way

With a resistant kiss, that leads to a full soul penetration

That will leave me empty in the morning

Full of pessimism, I know the day offers nothing more than…

A few obstacles until my next rendevous

And it’s so cold even though the afternoon sun blazes high above

I wish it would go away indefinitely

Giving me a reason not to hide my face past dawn

But alas, I will wait for dusk

That’s my time to drown those sorrows

Never mind what I already said

My sober mind was mistaken….or was I intoxicated

I’ve seemed to have lost the ability to tell

Sober and drunk thoughts all hurt the same

Where’s my drink already

I’m hiccuping which must mean sobriety is near

I can’t handle the thought of of being seen like this

Please liquor bottle…..make me disappear.

Leave a Reply

