Dear Life


I don’t typically write poetry using rhymes, but sometimes the mood just strikes me.  When I do write using rhymes, I wish I could record the reading because I feel my cadence makes more sense that way.  In any case, read the poem below.  Poetry is open to many interpretations, and if you have the time, I’d be interested in knowing yours, or your thoughts period.

Dear Life

Bumping in the dark trying to find my direction

Feeling pretty good but upon further inspection

It seems I lost my way many miles ago

With no miles to show, and no tread left on these tires, man I’m tired

So it’s hard to go back and redo my journey

Even when my family and friends try to do things to turn me

And it’s not that I don’t want to, I just see it ending in failure

That’s a feeling, for me, that’s all too familiar…or is that just me?

So I found my way to cope in this life so dear

It can’t be just about success or enhancing my career

It’s about living carefree and soaking in the adrenaline

And reliving those moments by telling those stories again and again

Not sure how I went so far left steady trying to convince everyone else that I’m alright

Feeling so far off from being centered when I’m laying down at night

But when the light shines in the morning I can put it on again

Leaning on the addictions that are like metaphorical friends

The stogs, the blunts, the sweet and dizzying concoctions

Seem to move me in slow motion so I can weigh my options

Which seem like none,

But I should fight some, for the good life huh?

Yeah, I’ll let you tell it

As I write my words to you, DEAR LIFE!!!

Can you hear me calling out waiting for you to get at me

Or are you sitting back and laughing at me casually

It’s a battle out there and I don’t think any of us are winning

We might need your mercy to let us start all over…from the beginning

My ups and downs, my rights and my wrongs

Maybe the answers are buried in versus and psalms

But how do you help the mute and the illiterate

I’m stressed out here and I need an edge…just a little bit

Or life, I might just get rid of it,

I feel like an idiot

So in closing, I’m shining the light hoping you finally see

That I’m holding on for dear life, to come rescue me.

Leave a Reply

