Giving the Bike a try


For those of you who have been reading my blog, you’ll remember that last year I began running.  I ran so much that I was able to complete one 5k, and a 3.5 mile run (a little over 5k).  I hated running.

I’ve never been a runner, and doing it last year didn’t change my mind.  I waited to get the runner’s high that I heard so much about, but I don’t think it ever came.  Nevertheless, it was a good way for me to stay active and get some exercise.  So what was I to do this summer, for that needed exercise?

Well, so far, I’ve decided to begin riding a bike.  The entire time while I was running last year, I kept saying to myself, I’d much rather be riding a bike.  At the time, I had just received a hand me down bike, and it needed a little work.  I wasn’t too comfortable riding it, and didn’t do it often.  But this year, I dusted it off and vowed to make riding a part of my regular routine.  Right out the gate, I went aggressive.  Me and the P.I.C went for a 12 mile bike ride.  I say that shaking my head with approval.  I was proud of myself.  And even though I had to walk my bike up a pretty steep hill (approximately 1/4 mile long), I was still proud of myself….and don’t you judge me.

The unexpected part of this ride was the butt cheek pain I experienced a day later.  Hmm, I don’t remember that when I was a kid.  That was some serious soreness.  I know I don’t have the best seat (imagine a hungry elf taking a few bites out of a seat),

but I still didn’t expect that.  But I was unfazed.  My next step was deciding to bike to work on a semi-regular basis.  Let’s face it, I’m not so hardcore to ride those four miles (4.5 miles the way I go) everyday.  Mainly because of the unpredictable weather we’ve been having.  I don’t have a poncho, or the cool fenders that I’ve seen talked about on different websites.  But on average, two times a week for the past two or three weeks isn’t bad.

The ultimate was last weekend, when I went on a 15 or 16 mile bike tour (same seat, but not as sore this time).  So this is most likely my new thing for the summer of 2013.  A few observations.  One, my desire to ride a bike last year was because it seemed so much less like work.  And though it is less work than running, it is still work.  My ride to work ends with sweat,

a fan, and change of shirt.  There are a few hills, and a few steep mountains (okay, just bigger hills) that I must contend with.  Observation number 2, is that I don’t remember having to be so aware of cars when I was younger.  The drivers can be a little scary (I’ll be more aware when I’m in the car).  Speaking of being young, the last observation, is the most disturbing in my warped mind.

When I was younger, I lived on a street with a small hill.  I remember riding down that hill, with no hands, standing up, with my arms stretched out.  No Fear!  Now, I trying to ride with no hands takes a lot of concentration.  Maybe this is because I just started riding again, but whoa…how different it feels.  Age really does change how you approach the things you do.  I’ll get there again, but wow.

Anyway, back to your regularly scheduled program

Leave a Reply

