Gun Control


I am fascinated by technology.  In this day and age, it’s involved in every part of our lives, and if I had to guess, it’s involvement in our lives will continue to increase.  However, with such technological advancements, it seems to me that guns continue to be left behind in the stone ages.  Sure, new technology allows for better guns, better shooting ability, and better ammo, but not better control of these dangerous weapons.  With so many murders each year attributed to these weapons, you would think at some point, gun control would become a priority.

Don’t get me wrong.  I think law enforcement agencies and the government as a whole has put a lot of work into getting guns under control, and out of the hands of those who should not be carrying them, but what about aiming at the manufacturers?  What have they done to allow for better control of the dangerous product they produce?  I don’t have intimate knowledge of their efforts, but I can’t help but think they do a bit more.  And I’m no expert, but I do have a proposal.

Guns should have a fingerprint scanner on the handle, or somewhere easily accessible.  When the gun is legally purchased, the new owner should have to register their print with that gun (a small chip in the gun will hold the print registration), kind of like how some laptops will unlock with a fingerprint scan.  Prior to discharging, the owner should have to have their fingerprint scanned to unlock the weapon.  Without this scan, the gun will not discharge. There should also be a timeout period, where after the original scan, the gun will re-lock requiring the individual to scan their fingerprint again.  The chip in the gun should register the amount of shots discharged, as well as a gps location, date and time stamp, that are recorded by a computer housed by the manufacturer.  If a gun owner wishes to sell their gun, the new owner should have to go to a gun store, to have their fingerprint registered with the gun, while having the previous owners registration removed.  For internet sales, or sales that may not happen face to face, the previous owner should have to give some sort of authenticated consent form to have themselves removed from the registration.  You should also be allowed to register more than one individual to a gun, but maybe there should be a max as well.

I think a restriction similar to this will eliminate accidental shootings, typically by young kids who have no idea what they’re doing, and reduce the amount of shootings that happen with illegally purchased guns in the streets.  If someone murders someone with a legal gun, and discards the gun, the manufacturer (or police) should be able do a search for guns discharged in a given area at a given time based on the gps recording.  This would allow law enforcement to identify the prints registered with the gun.  I’m sure there are flaws to my idea, but I’m no expert.  In theory, in my head, it works.  I’ll leave it to the experts to fill in the blanks, but I don’t see a major downside.  Some might say that this type of thing might make owning a gun nearly impossible because the expense would be too high.  I don’t know about all of that.  I know a cell phone costs about $500, and the things its capable of is rather amazing when you think about it.  And though owning a gun, in the U.S, is considered to be a constitutional right, nowhere in the constitution does it say the cost of one has to be affordable.  Lastly, the last time I checked, the price of a human life far exceeded the price of any material object we possess, so I don’t really see it as an issue.

Certainly the gun companies have lobbyists and have their way of influencing the government, and anything that will see a reduction in sales will probably not happen.  I just sometimes wish, that we as a people, would stop putting money ahead of what we know is right.  Just my two cents….

Leave a Reply

