What Savings


Is it me, or is it nearly impossible to save money these days?  I swear, if it wasn’t for my 401k I’d be completely paranoid about retirement funds.  Not that I’m really even thinking about it, but I do know that if I plan to live that long, I need to have some funds if I don’t want to work into the grave.  And since social security will be, in all likelihood, done, I can’t even count on that money.  It’s a bit scary.  I mean, conventional wisdom says to put away 10% of your salary each year…yeah, right.  It’s sad because I bought a place that I thought I could reasonably afford, and I don’t have any major debts looming over my head.  Truth is, I have a little something put away, but not nearly enough.  It’s just that life in general can be expensive.  I certainly could cut back on my entertainment spending (drinks, travel, and the like..) but I don’t want to be bored until retirement age either.

I’m sure I’m not alone in this, and I’m sure I’ll figure it out.  I also know that there are plenty of people who are probably worse off than I am, so why should I cry?  And I’m not irresponsible with my money, so I won’t be completely broke, but I’d love to be comfortable when the time comes.  We shall see.  Guess I’d better start playing the lotto.  If you know of any sugar momma’s out there, tell them to look me up.  LOL.

 

flush…

Leave a Reply

