Lucky Me…seriously…


Today, I decided I was going to buy and put up a ceiling fan.  It’s the “unofficial” start to the summer and I this weather has provided enough heat to get the air conditioner going.  My hope is that the ceiling fan will use less energy than the air conditioner, but hopefully I won’t have to use the air conditioner as much.

Well, as most other household projects, this one threw me a curve ball.  In short, there was an extra wire that the instructions accounted for in an optional way.  However, it never accounted for the wire if I were not going to use it for the optional reason.  So we constructed the fan without using the extra wire, but I was worried that the unused wire could somehow be a fire hazard.  Before completing the assembly, I wanted to be sure that there was no issue with the wire, so I needed to get on the internet and do some research.  In order to get my router working again, I had to turn the power to the room back on.  I turned the switch back on at the circuit breaker box and did my research.

After getting the answer I needed, I disassembled the fan so I could get to the wires.  I then took one of the wire connections apart, and reassembled them with the extra wire.  After which, I realized I never turned the power back off.  I’m not 100% sure, but I’m thinking I never touched the ends of the live wires.  That’s the only reason I’m not currently in the hospital I assume.  It was a scary thought after the fact.  Maybe I was never in any real danger, but I think I understand a little about how electricity works, and because of that, I consider myself lucky.  Today could’ve ended much different.  Lucky Me….

Leave a Reply

