Lower Drinking Age


Should the drinking age be lowered?  The fact is, most kids who are under 21 will find ways to get alcohol. They will also find themselves in situations where they wind up binge drinking. Even worse, a handful of them will look for other ways to obtain a high; the latest talked about trend is drinking hand sanitizer. 

What about drinking under the supervision of adults?  That’s actually what sparked this thought. I heard, on the news, of parents getting in trouble for serving alcohol to underage teens at a party. I’m not condoning that, especially since I don’t have all of the details, but some parents feel better if they are able to monitor their kids while drinking. They figure, it’s going to happen anyway, so why not create a safe environment for them to do so.

I admit that I don’t know the mortality rates for teen drinking, but my assumption is that it’s better now than it was when the drinking age was 18.  Numbers don’t lie so I feel that the authorities must know better than I do. I do wonder if other substances have become the substitute and so it no longer is comparing apples to apples. I also know we have become prone to pumping our kids with all kinds of behavior altering drugs, so what’s the difference.

I don’t know. Just my random thought of the moment.

Leave a Reply

