Bed and Breakfast Experience


For some time now, I’ve wanted to try out a bed and breakfast.  The concept seemed interesting, and even though I’ve mainly had good experiences in hotels, I decided to give it a try.  So I took a trip to Rhode Island and stayed in one of the highest rated B&B’s, according to Trip Advisor (I trust Yelp and Trip Advisor way too much btw, lol).

In any case, after hitting some traffic on the way, I arrived about an hour and a half later than I had anticipated.  I called while I was still on the road to advise the inn keepers of my late arrival, and they seemed thankful for the courtesy.  Knowing my new time of arrival, they were prepared when I got in, and even offered to help with bags.  The room was ready, the inn keepers were friendly, and the place had character.  Great!!  The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the inn keepers were ready to call me a cab, make reservations, or do whatever I needed them to do before they retired to their living quarters. There was even a cookie on the night table to greet me (both nights I might add).

I love food, so I was really looking forward to the breakfast part.  I imagined a host of options from eggs, omelets, pancakes, french toast, cereal, etc…and I was going to really indulge myself.  However, my first breakfast was not what I expected.  There were two options, and though the variety wasn’t there, I was still excited for the taste.  I had seen the kitchen when I checked in, and from its look I imagined the chef would be able to do some damage.  However, after my first bite I knew my experience would not match my expectations.  Was the food good?  Yes, but nothing spectacular.  Breakfast on the second morning, though the options were different, was pretty much the same.  I normally don’t set high expectations for establishments, but with “breakfast” in the name, I had thought surely this would be unlike any other breakfast I’ve ever had.

Sharing a house with strangers is not something that bothers me, but if I’m going to do it, there has to be an even trade off.  My experience tells me that an even trade off does not exist.  I think you just have to be one of those people who really like houses with character and treasure the personal touches that accompany a B&B.  I like it, but not sure if I’m willing to pay a premium price for it, considering the overall experience.  I’d do it again, but I’m much more inclined to just stay at a chain hotel.  I didn’t want to mention the B&B because I do think it’s a great establishment, and I don’t want my comments to be interpreted incorrectly.  It may be that it’s just not for me.

Leave a Reply

