Meeting Schmeeting


When I was younger, I used to think about how cool it must be to be in meetings.  The major deals, and the important topics that were being tackled.  This was how things in this world got done by the grown ups.  There was work, and then there were meetings at work, and the two concepts were distinct with a major focus and importance placed upon the meetings.

How wrong I was.  I’ve been in the business world for some time now, and if there’s anything I’ve learned it’s that “meetings” are one of the biggest wastes of time.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve seen a lot accomplished in meetings.  I’ve gotten a lot done in meetings, but the meetings that actually have meaning, structure, and purpose are much less common than I used to think.

What I hate most are the bitch and moan meeting, the tip toe around the real topics meeting, the everyone use business language to appear smart meetings, and the meeting to confirm what was already covered (or could’ve been covered) in a previous email meeting.  I’m sure there are plenty of others, but these are the first to come to mind.  It’s at a point where I only am excited about meetings called by certain people because I know they will be productive.  Others, well, I know I’m in for 30-60 minutes of a pure waste of time, save 2 minutes.

Meetings Schmeetings…..FLUSH!

Leave a Reply

