Introduction and more


Hello all.  As the title of this post would indicate, I’m relatively new to the blogging community.  I tried it once on another site, with limited success, but am attempting to take another crack at it.

It should be noted that there may not be much rhyme or reason to some of the things I write.  I say what’s on my mind, and hope to engage in some conversations.  I write poetry (who doesn’t these days), and will attempt to get a short story published one day.  However, until then, I’ll use blogging as a semi-creative outlet.

I won’t continue to bore you with an introduction, but I do have something on my mind.  I often wonder about human behavior and intentions.  I can’t seem to shake the notion that everyone has good intentions, but somehow get sidetracked.  I have been known to over analyze things, and probably to my detriment.  For example, I’ve thought about starting a blog for sometime now, yet I’m just getting around to doing it.  The only thing that prompted the “just do it” attitude was finally realizing there was no real downside.  What if I have nothing to say?  What if people don’t read it?  What if, what if, what if??  Truthfully, it wouldn’t matter.  There’s is no real detriment with any of those things happening.  Anyway, I’m getting away from my point.  My point is, I have had plenty of negative thoughts.  Thoughts of how I’m going to be or act just to piss someone else off, or prove myself as a superior being.  However, I’m usually able to use rational thinking to determine that the destructive path isn’t worth it.  It’s probably causing me more harm than anyone else.

This is not to say I’m holier than thou.  Quite the contrary, I’m probably just like you.  It’s those other individuals who take things to the extreme that I really direct this question at.  In your own mind, or when presented with rationale that conflicts with your negative motivation, you still must push through with the destructive plan.  I can’t put my finger on why that is.  Why at work, you refuse to realize that sabotaging your coworker’s work, in the long run, is bad for the team (including you).  Why you refuse to understand that purposefully pissing off your mate is wrong.  Why you refuse to see that giving an elderly parent the silent treatment will come back to haunt you.  I don’t know.  Everyone has their reasons I guess.  I’m sure plenty of people have questioned my actions.  Make no mistake, I’m not judging, I’m just left wondering.  I have a lot of work to do on myself, so that’s where I will choose to focus my energy, but my observant eye will not let go of that wonder anytime soon.  Oh well.  Welcome to the Thought Toilet.

 

Leave a Reply

